Brant Colledge Claims 2018 Butcher Medal

Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 5:45 PM

Brant Colledge has taken home the Perth Football Club's highest honour, the Butcher Medal, after what was an outstanding season for the Club.

Colledge was successful with 101 votes, beating 2017 Butcher Medallist Captain Clint Jones by a single vote. Jones took home the Runner Up Best & Fairest, with Corey Yeo finishing third on the final leaderboard for the 2018 season.

Colledge has always looked a tremendously capable footballer at both the AFL and WAFL level when his body has allowed him to be fully fit, but unfortunately for him that hasn’t been the case often enough.

But it did happen for longer than at any other point in his career during 2018 and the result was the best and most consistent season of his career with the Demons.

Colledge started the season playing largely across half-forward, but as his fitness, form and confidence grew the longer the season went on, the more time he spent in the midfield in an area that became a real strength of the resurgent Perth in 2018.

Playing in a midfield unit that included Clint Jones, Corey Yeo, Cody Leggett and the emerging Corey Byrne, Colledge put together a tremendous run of form finishing the season averaging 26.4 disposals across his 17 matches while also kicking 13 goals.

He had six games along the way where he collected 30 or more possessions and with his big body and ability to win contested ball and use it well, he became a key part of the Demons' line-up that threatened to break their finals drought in 2018.

Colledge ended up being rewarded by winning the Butcher Medal as the Perth fairest and best winner in a season where he was also named to the WAFL Team of the Year on a half-forward flank.

Captain and last year's Butcher Medallist Clint Jones was runner-up in this year's vote count in recognition of yet another outstanding season. Jones racked up another 28.6 possessions a game in 2018 including eight times reaching 30 or more.

Having played 149 games in the AFL either side of his time in the WAFL firstly at South Fremantle and now Perth, he continues to be a standout midfielder in the competition with 141 games under his belt between the Bulldogs and Demons.

Corey Yeo finished third in fairest and best voting with the former Claremont on-baller a tremendous addition for the Demons averaging 25.1 disposals and playing all 18 matches.

Colledge won the Butcher Medal by polling 101 votes to win ahead of Jones (100), Yeo (98), Clayton Giblett (91), Corey Byrne (88), Kristian Cary (86), Cody Leggett (85) and John Levien (80).

Kristian Cary won the Redlegs One Percenter Award along with being joint leading goalkicker with he and Cody Ninyette both kicking 28 goals for the 2018 season.

Christian Eyres was named Best Clubman while Simon Jenkins took out the Club Person of the Year award.

Sydney Stack was named the Most Outstanding Young Talent while also winning the Jack Ensor Medal as the colts fairest and best ahead of Connor Sing.

Kurtis Chester won the Greg Brehaut Medal as reserves fairest and best winner ahead of Callum Marshall. 


Butcher Medal: Brant Colledge


 Perth Football Club Best & Fairest


Runner Up Best & Fairest: Clint Jones

Third Place Best & Fairest: Corey Yeo


Vince Pendal Award: Christian Eyres

Best Clubman


 Ron Tucker Memorial Trophy Award: Cody Ninyette & Kristian Cary

Leading Goal Kickers


Redlegs 1% Award: Kristian Cary

Most Sacrificial & Courageous



Jack O'Dea Memorial Trophy: Simon Jenkins

Best Club Person


Doug Buckingham Trophy: Sydney Stack

Most Outstanding Young Talent


Final League Leaderboard

B. COLLEDGE 101 votes
C. JONES 100 votes
C. YEO 98 votes
C. GIBLETT 91 votes
C. BYRNE 88 votes
K. CARY 86 votes
C. LEGGETT 85 votes
J. LEVIEN 80 votes
M. SINCLAIR 79 votes
M. TAYLOR 76 votes


2018 Reserves Awards

Greg Brehaut Medal: Kurtis Chester

Reserves Best & Fairest


Runner Up Best & Fairest: Callum Marshall


 Coaches Award: Braden Piggott

Redlegs 1% Award: Fraser Barns


Final Reserves Leaderboard

K. CHESTER 85 votes
C. MARSHALL 82 votes
B. MCPHAIL 78 votes
S. SMITH 77 votes
C. BENNELL 70 votes
I. BUCKLEY 67 votes
L. MARLIN 67 votes
B. PIGGOTT 65 votes
D. HORAN 64 votes
S. PERKUSICH 63 votes


2018 Colts Awards

 Jack Ensor Medal: Sydney Stack


 Runner Up Best & Fairest: Connor Sing


PP&OA Encouragement Award: Ryan Mally

View the full list of Colts award winners here.