Monday, October 7, 2013 - 12:14 PM


By Mark Thornber

Tenacious midfielder Brett Hodge capped an outstanding individual season on Saturday night when he won his first Butcher Medal in Perth’s Fairest & Best Count with 131 votes.


The reliable utility player enjoyed a successful move from a back pocket and tagger role to develop into one of the best midfielders in the completion, which also saw him earn a place in the 2013 WAFL team of the year along with Paul Bevan and Brennan Stack.


Demon’s Captain Bevan finished in second place with 93 votes and Stack and Half Back Matthew Tedesco tied for equal third place on 80 votes each.

Other major award winners on the night included:

Jack O'Dea Memorial Award (Club Person) - Andrew Owen;

Ron Tucker Award (Leading Goal Kicker) – Paul Bevan;

Redlegs 1% Award – Dene White;

Doug Buckingham Memorial Award (Most Outstanding Junior) – Michael Sinclair;

Vince Pendal Award (Best Clubman) – Matt Wellborn;

Greg Brehaut Memorial Award Development Squad (Reserves) Best Player – Matthew Hunt;

Development Squad (Reserves) Runner Up – Kieran Hug;

Development Squad (Reserves) Coaches Award – Chad Sandilands;

Development Squad (Reserves) Redlegs 1% Award – Tyler Chrimes;

Colts Best Player Award – Brent Edmonds;


Clint Wheeldon a well known Demons fan from ABC 720 did a wonderful job as Master of Ceremonies. Special acknowledgement was also made to long time club stalwart Arthur Ransted for his role in assisting with video and media communications throughout the year.


The night proved to be a highly successful occasion with the club also announcing the re appointment of League Coach Damien McMahon for next season along with a major signing for the club in former Sydney Swans premiership player Mitch Morton.