Demons upset reigning premiers in Mandurah thriller

Monday, April 16, 2018 - 9:17 AM

The Demons held on to record their first win of the season at Bendigo Bank Stadium on Sunday afternoon, beating 2016 and 2017 premiers Peel Thunder in gutsy fashion.

Leading by 38-points at the final change after a seven goal to two third term, the Demons overcame a final quarter surge from the hosts to win 12.13 (85) to 11.13 (79).

The first half arm wrestle was controlled by Perth, taking 7-point leads with them into the first two breaks.

The Demons' first half pressure paid dividends in the third quarter, led by three goals from spearhead Spencer White who finished with five for the day in arguably his best game for the club.

2016 Butcher Medallist Michael Sinclair was exceptional in defence with 32 disposals and nine marks, rebounding off the half back line to send the Demons forward.

Cody Leggett was also amongst Perth's best player, laying 10 tackles to go with his 30 disposals.

Captain Clint Jones again showed no signs of slowing down, finishing with a game high 35 disposals.

Christian Eyres fought tirelessly in the ruck against Dockers 200-plus centimetre trio Scott Jones, Lloyd Meek and Luke Strnadica.

New recruit Corey Yeo looks at home in red and black, continuing his strong start to 2018 with another dominant display in the midfield.

Earlier in the day, Perth's Reserves side defeated Peel 15.5 (95) to 10.13 (73) as did the Colts, 14.12 (102) to 8.9 (57), making it three wins for the Demons in a promising day for the club.

The Demons' focus now shifts to East Perth at Lathlain Park this Saturday, a game they will enter filled with confidence after yesterday's performance and last year's round 22 win over the Royals.

READ MORE: Perth beats Peel Thunder in massive WAFL upset at Bendigo Bank Stadium

BECOME A MEMBER: Sign up before 5pm this Friday and receive a free yet to be released Demons supporters hat with your pack (only valid with Full, Trident or Family memberships) 

PERTH 2.5 5.8 12.11 12.13 (85)

PEEL 1.4 4.7 6.9 11.13 (79)


Demons: S White 5, R Bourne 2, M Jones 2, C Yeo, C Collard, K Cary

Thunder: L Jetta 3, B Bell 2, S Kersten, S Switkowski, B Lawler, T North, L Meek, L Strnadica


Demons: S White, C Yeo, C Jones, C Leggett, M Sinclair

Thunder: T Duman, B Howlett, B Bell, R Nyhuis, B Hancock, S Switkowski