Round 9: Perth v Subiaco Match Review

Monday, June 10, 2019 - 12:43 PM

SUBIACO 11.13 (79) defeated PERTH 1.4 (10)

It was perhaps the most anticipated game of the WAFL season on Saturday at Leederville Oval with the chance for Perth to show just how far it's come up against the might of Subiaco.

Perth started the season winning its opening five matches to suddenly have many dreaming of the fairytale story for the club that hasn’t played finals since 1997, in a Grand Final since 1978 or won a premiership since 1977.

But taking it up to Subiaco was always the biggest test of the season and the Demons got the first opportunity to do that on Saturday at Leederville Oval with all eyes on the contest with it the only WAFL game on for the day.

It proved a day to forget for Perth and that all began when captain Corey Yeo lost the toss and instead Subiaco got the advantage to kick with the strong breeze before the rain began to tumble down.

Going with the breeze and in the relatively dry conditions, Subiaco got rolling in the first quarter to kick five goals to one from Perth. The Lions' lead of 26 points at quarter-time would then never be challenged.

The at times torrential rain made life challenging the rest of the way and was at its worst in the second quarter with Perth only able to manage two behinds kicking with the advantage of the strong wind.

Despite the rain and wind making life challenging, Subiaco even managed a purple patch during the third quarter to end up kicking four more goals to head into the quarter-time with a 56-point advantage.

Perth is now 6-3 having registered its lowest ever score against Subiaco, with the previous worst being 1.7 (13) in Round 2, 1910 at Subiaco Oval. It's also the Demons' lowest ever score at Leederville Oval in 154 visits.

Perth's lone goal came courtesy of Zareth Roe in the second quarter.

Clint Jones was playing his 150th game in the WAFL, 84 for South Fremantle and now 66 with Perth, and fought hard for 28 possessions with Corey Yeo picking up 27 touches, Cody Leggett 26, Brant Colledge 26, Matthew Taylor 23, Michael Sinclair 17 and Jacob Payne 17.

Goals: 1 - Z Roe
Best: K Nicholas, C Jones, C Leggett, C Giblett, J Payne
Reports: Nil.